Making Effort

and Pureland Buddhism in the Philippines

Image for Seven Charities

The 7 Charities

1 Comment

A broomThe Japanese character for “person” (below) has the meaning that one person supports another to live.
Japanese Character for Person
Indeed we cannot live without other people. We all depend on one another, for business, relationships, family, and just living in general.
No man is an island, goes the saying.
For this reason, in Buddhism, the attitude of harmony is highly regarded. Without harmony there is conflict and it becomes difficult to accomplish a task.
With solidarity or harmony in our homes, work and social, greater happiness can be achieved.

How can we practice harmony? By doing the 7 Charities, for instance. They are:
1. Warm eyes
2. A smile
3. Kind words
4. Sincere gratitude
5. Physical labor/ volunteering
6. Yielding way
7. Share a meal and shelter

They are part of the 6 Good Deeds taught by Buddha to bring happiness to the giver and receiver.

Learn more about this topic and others in our meetings at Meetup


One thought on “The 7 Charities

  1. Pingback: The 6 Good Deeds or 6 Paramita | Making Effort

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s